Board of directors

Mario Schembri

Chairman and Non-Executive Director

Mario has extensive knowledge of card management systems, with diverse exposure to international card organizations including VISA International, MasterCard, and DINERS Club International. Mario has served in the banking industry for 26 years. He joined RS2 in 1999 as Regional Manager for the Mediterranean Region, and in 2006 he took on the role of Deputy Chief Executive Officer. Mario was appointed Chief Executive Officer in January 2008 and Chairman in January 2012.

Radi Abd El Haj

CEO and Executive Director

Radi joined RS2 in 1997 as a Project Manager. He was promoted to Customer Relationship Manager in 2002 and Head of Sales and Implementation in 2004. Radi specializes in the areas of issuing, acquiring, clearing and settlement, e-commerce, and accounting. The Group and clients benefit from his international experience, global network, and experience with the technical and product development units. Radi was appointed Chief Executive Officer in January 2012.

Dr Robert Tufigno

LL.D., Non-Executive Director

Robert has vast experience in company law, contract law, financial services, employment law, maritime law, and legislative drafting. Being also an arbitrator, he has practiced in the fields of general commercial law, property law, and litigation. He has also acted as Chairman of Malta’s Employment and Training Corporation and as Chairman of Malta’s Housing Authority, and also as Board Director of Lohombus Bank. Robert is a Partner of GTG Advocates.

John Elkins

Non-Executive Director

John currently serves on the boards of FINCA International, ELATERAL Ltd., Travelex Inc., and RS2 Software PLC. John retired as President, International Regions, from First Data in June 2015. He served as Senior Advisor at McKinsey & Company (2007–09). From 2002–07 he served as Executive VP and Global CMO for Visa International. John was the founder, Chairman, and CEO of FutureBrand, built from a start-up into one of the leading worldwide corporate brand and design consultancies.

Franco Azzopardi

Non-Executive Director

Franco, a Certified Public Accountant, spent 27 years working in public practice. He specializes in corporate strategy, governance, risk, and finance, and is today director and member of the UK Institute of Directors. His portfolio includes directorships on Boards, Audit Committees, and Risk and Compliance Committees in various sectors. Franco is CEO of the leading logistics company in Malta. He also contributes towards the development of the Malta Institute of Accountants.

Natalie Strange

Non-Executive Director

Natalie, Corporate Strategy Director- Barclaycard Payments is a proven leader within the payments industry with 19 years of experience within the Barclays Group. Natalie Strange supports the Barclaycard Payments executive team shape commercial strategy for Corporate and Small Business segments across the Issuing and Acceptance business. Natalie has extensive customer experience spanning holding various leadership posts within Barclaycard Payments from leading International and Ecommerce Account teams and UK New Business teams for Barclaycard Payments, Acceptance and Specialist Products.

Raša Karapandža

Non-Executive Director

Raša is a Professor of Finance and Vice Dean Education at He also serves as an academic director of the Master in Finance program and head of chair of finance. Raša’s work has been featured in top media outlets such as The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, and Der Spiegel. He advised members of the US Congress on the topics of regulating cryptocurrencies and other blockchain-related technologies.

Dr Ivan Gatt, LL.D.

Company Secretary

Ivan represents clients in a broad spectrum of substantive legal areas. Having vast experience in advising companies and board committees on corporate governance, he has facilitated a variety of transactions, including securities offerings, venture capital investments, corporate acquisitions, regulatory, and compliance matters. Ivan has presided over the Levy Appeals Board and the Customs and Excise Tax Appeals Board of the Ministry of Finance. Ivan is a Partner at GTG Advocates.